My Journey of Self Discovery

FINALLY !
It took a while… but I finally put together this blog where I will journal the adventures of my attempt to complete the PCT (Pacific Crest Trail) thru-hike. I will try to do my best to post about my days on the trail, Internet service permitting, of course ha! Writing is not really my forte, so there will probably be more photos than words, but I’ll be sure I fill you in with anything interesting I run across along the way. I hope you’ll join me on my journey and feel free to comment!

HOW IT ALL BEGAN…
It all started about a year ago after reading a story on Facebook about a young hiker named Hairpin. The title, “Four Months Alone on the Pacific Crest Trail” really stuck to me. I immediately started looking up information about her journey. The idea of being alone with nature and having all that time to contemplate sounded like it was just what i needed. It wasn’t long before I got hooked on the idea of actually hiking the trail myself.

More things came to light after searching online, watching documentaries, looking at maps, and reading books and websites and of course the Reese Witherspoon movie, “Wild”. At this point, I had set my mind to do this no matter what. The idea of being alone with peace and quiet, enjoying the vistas and absorbing nature in solitude set a trigger in me.

Living in and around the Big Apple for so many years has it’s pro and cons. However, for the past five or so years It seemed the cons were outweighing the pros. Maybe I’m getting older but I just want to experience a different life. A life that is slower and less stressful. As the saying goes, I hope to “find myself” on the journey.

 

img_2237My home for the next few months

Leave a Reply

